Intention Behind Thought

After reading Dr. Emoto’s book about water and the universe, I was compelled to attempt one of his experiments on my own. Gather my own friends across the country and send our thoughts to some jars of rice, how much fun are we going to have!  As a reference, others have done this experiment like this woman.

Skip to the daily guide, thinking about the jars

Before I get ahead of myself, I wanted to start by soliciting feedback from my social network to see where my peers stand (and how I might create a better experiment). I asked, do you believe this rice experiment?  I got a few maybes and some flat out no’s! One comment of interest was a suggestion to add a fourth jar that you ‘speak to’ with no positive or negative statements. I’m not sure what a ‘not positive or negative statement’ is, but I’ll try it!

Another comment from my social network said Dr. Emoto did not describe his process clearly enough. For me, I would expect all the jars in his experiment were handled equally. Why would we think he’s out to get us on the setup of the experiment? In my experiment I treated each jar the same during the prep phase.

The Experiment

First, I washed four mason jars and lids in the dishwasher with other items from my kitchen. Not real special treatment here, if you feel bacteria can enter the system, yes bacteria is everywhere including this experiment. Second, I labeled each jar with duct tape so I could begin thinking and judging the jars. Third, I took rice that’s been sitting in my cupboard for a long time and measured about 1/3 cup into each jar. I made a bit of a mess by the end as some of the rice fell on to the counter. I scooped up the remaining rice and didn’t want to return it to the bag (who would want to eat rice that touched the kitchen counter!?), so I distributed it evenly among the four jars. Fourth, I took my 1/2 cup measure out and filled it with tap water then dumped it into the jar. I didn’t exactly use 1/2 cup, I filled each jar to just below the top line. I wanted to leave an air gap that was noticeable.  Fifth, I put the lid on.

Now I have four jars that more or less meet the original experiment guidelines and my social network. Let’s take them to their home for the next 30 days. I carry each downstairs into the supply closet where it’s fairly warm, dry and dark. As I carry them down I begin the experiment by giving them thoughts as written on the jar. I place them gently or indifferently onto the shelf, in clear view of each other.

Intention Experiment Group

Daily Thoughts

Each day I will spend approximately one minute on each jar repeating the words or something similar to what is written on the jar. I encourage you to do the same, maybe you only have 1 minute, that’s OK too. Think for 20 seconds on the first, 20 seconds on the second, and 20 seconds on the third jar. Let’s recap for those detail oriented folk:

  1. “Thank you” – other thoughts: I appreciate you, I love you, You are wonderful
  2. “General” – Talk about what happened in your day, nothing positive or negative.
  3. “I hate you” – other thoughts: You are ugly, I don’t like you, You stink!
  4. “Ignore” – no thoughts are to be sent to this jar. We will skip thinking about it during the daily process, simply move past it.

As you are sending thoughts remotely, look at the picture at the top of the post, specifically focusing on the jar you are working with. Visualize that jar in front of you, sitting on the shelf, listening to your intentions as you speak silently in your mind.

3db96fe7-b89b-40b7-89e7-686ba5022792

Day 4 – Use this picture while you set your intention

I thank you for reading and experimenting with me.


Update Feb 13th 2019

The experiment is nearing the end. How do you think it’s going? Were you able to participate? Let me know here (4 questions).

I’ve turned around the jars so you can’t see the labels, can you tell which is which?

Rice Experiment - Day 36 no labels

Day 36 – Can you tell which jar has which label?

 

Leave a comment